Case 012: Arlington, Texas

So after a day of traveling, I finally arrived in Arlington and it was another day after that before I could talk to my only witness for the Arlington sighting. There was actually two witnesses for this case, but I was only able to locate one. The one I was able to locate had given a more detailed report than the other witness, but I also made sure that through this investigation I kept the second report from the mystery witness with me so that I would have something else to help pull this all together. So my witness that I could talk to I will call “Chad” and he is a student at the University of Texas.

Now I know that some people would immediately try to discredit the testimony of a college student being a witness of a UFO sighting. After all, the drinking binge of any college student may subject them to seeing all kinds of lights in the sky and being convinced they were abducted. I know; I was there once. Not at this school, but any college looks the same after a night of heavy drinking.

Now the student that I was meeting is studying to get a masters degree in psychology. I suppose I could have asked him for a quick session to discuss my desire to chase around UFO sightings all over the country. But instead, I decided to let Chad do all the talking.

Chad and I met at the student union. We met outside so Chad could show me where he was on January 28th when he saw the light. Chad said he was on his way from class heading to the student union to get something for lunch. As he was walking, he heard a plane flying low over the campus and looked up to see the plane. That was when he saw the plane was sky writing a message. So Chad stopped to watch the plane write its message. Then something caught his eyes. He said that it was reflected by the sun and that was when he started watching the object.

Chad said that at first he thought the object was just a balloon. He said it moved slowly and seemed to be caught in the wind. However, as Chad watched, he began to suspect that the object was not behaving the same way as a balloon would act. Instead, the object stopped climbing up and instead seemed to be stuck in the smoke of the message. To Chad, it seemed that the object was playing in the smoke. He said it started moving and weaving in and out of the smoke and moving up and down as if it were enjoying playing in this smoke. That was when Chad realized that the object was actually moving against the wind. It was moving around in an up draft or with the wind like a balloon. It appeared to be displaying some kind of intelligence as it weaved in and out and moved all around the smoke.

I asked Chad to describe the object to me. He said it did appear to him to be the shape of a balloon. It was circular on the top and seemed to taper down toward the bottom. However, Chad reminded me several times, the object was shinning in the light of the sun. If it was in fact a latex balloon, how could it be shinning in sunlight. There are balloons that are made of foil, but these balloons are completely round and not tapered at all.

Then I asked Chad to describe the color. He said it was a yellow-gold color and again he mentioned that it shined in the sun. I had him pick out the color on the swatches I had and he picked out a golden-yellow color. I asked him if we could meet again tomorrow and I would try an experiment with him on that day. Chad agreed and he headed off to class while I headed to next location for the second sighting.

The second witness, who was never identified, saw a stationary object in the sky. This person also saw the object around noon and because a plane was writing a message in the sky, this witness also looked up to see the message. Instead of being fixated on the message, this witness saw at stationary object in the sky over the funnest place in Arlington.

The second witness was at Six Flags over Texas at the time of the sighting. The witness reported seeing a shinning copper-colored object stationary in the sky near the smoke. The object appeared to move slowly and weave in and out of the smoke. Unfortunately, this witness read the report that Chad had submitted and agreed that they had seen the exact same thing as Chad. Without having someone to talk to about this sighting, this was about all I could do for the second witness. However, I knew that I could run an experiment on this to see if both witnesses were actually correct.

The following day, I went to a local party supply store and purchased several balloons. I purchased 6 latex balloons. I purchased 3 gold and 3 copper-colored balloons. Then I also purchased two foil balloons.

I went back to the University of Texas and met with Chad. I had him repeat his testimony to me again about what he saw. Nothing had changed in his story and he did not recall anything more about what happened. So then I conducted the experiment.

Chad and I stood in the same spot where Chad had seen the object and I released the gold balloon. As the balloon drifted up, it began moving east. The wind continued pushing it toward the east until we finally could no longer see it. I released the copper-colored balloon and it did the same thing. Chad kept shaking his head as he watched these balloons drift up. He was convinced that he did not see a latex balloon that day. After seeing the behavior of both balloons, and seeing that neither balloon reflected the light of the sun, I was starting to agree with Chad. Then I released the foil balloon. It floated up the same way and in the same behavior as the first two. However, it did reflect the light of the sun. But it always remained silver in color and that was the only color that continued to be visible. Chad said it may have been possible that he saw a foil balloon, assuming it was completely golden in color, but he was still unsure. He said they way the balloons moved was just not right. They did not move like the object on January 28th. That object moved with a purpose and perhaps some level of intelligence.

I thanked Chad for all of his help and headed over to an area near the Six Flags theme park. I released the balloons there in the similar fashion I had done with Chad. I recorded the movements of the balloons with my video camera and I am keeping the footage for future reference. I suppose it is still more likely that what these witnesses saw was a balloon and that the movement of the plane and the smoke was just causing the balloon to be disturbed as it drifted. The plane could have been causing currents that made it appear the balloon was moving against the wind. However, without any footage of the object I can’t be entirely sure. I am not entirely convinced that the object was a balloon because I don’t like the idea that the object “displayed intelligence.” While that may just be something that the witnesses fabricated in their minds, it left me with just enough doubt to say this may have been a balloon or it may have been something more. At least I feel better about this whole investigation having been able to capture my own balloon footage. I have a feeling this will come in handy as I go further.

So after riding a couple of rides at Six Flags over Arlington, it was off to Houston, Texas for another double sighting of a UFO.

About ufotraveljournal

I travel around the United States investigating supposed UFO sightings. View all posts by ufotraveljournal

Leave a comment